EVO 4 Wiring

Check out the latest version of the Spec Racer! LBoth ligher weight and more powerful!!! Available soon, racing in 2015!

Needs a Life!!!
Needs a Life!!!
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:38 pm
Location: Monument, CO
Chassis:
540
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 5:32 pm
I am hooking up an EVO 4 (with G Dash) this weekend. Three questions:
Can I power the EVO 4 through the data cable from the ECU?
Which RS 232 wire (R or T) do I hook up to for power (assuming I can power through the ECU)?
On the data cable from the ECU, which pin is number 1 (2, 3 and 4)?

Thanks in advance!

DaveP

Still Learning to Type
Still Learning to Type
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 8:54 pm
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 7:58 pm
While the Evo4 can be powered from the Data Connection, this isn't recommended as it will then only be powered on when the ignition is turned on. More importantly, it will power off when the ignition is powered off -- usually we like to stop logging (ie. when the engine stops-- not just have the power removed).

You will often want to use your Evo4 without the engine/ECU switched on via the ignition -- for example to download data, or check the status of the GPS reception - which can take a few minutes to acquire GPS lock, and thus you may want to have your Evo4 on for some time before you start the car.

You do not use the RS-232 wires for power (they are a different type of ECU serial communication).

For the Evo4, you want to use the CAN wires in the ECU adapter cable for communication (CAN+ for CAN High/Pin1 and CAN - for CAN Low/Pin2).

The data cable from the ECU has the following pinout:
PIN Description
1 CAN High
2 CAN Low
3 12V
4 Ground

The pin numbers are molded into the mating connector on the back side (where the terminal/wires are inserted). You will find that Pin1 & Pin 2 are diagonally opposite each other. I always turn the connector so Pin1 is in the 11 o'clock position, and Pin2 would be in the 5 o'clock position.

Needs a Life!!!
Needs a Life!!!
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:38 pm
Location: Monument, CO
Chassis:
540
PostPosted: Fri Dec 26, 2014 10:50 pm
David,

Thanks you very much for the information. I noted that the EVO 4 wire harness has five wires. CAN high, CAN low, ground, RS232 t and RS232 r. I do not see one labeled power. Where should I connect the power line to?

Thanks,

DaveP

Still Learning to Type
Still Learning to Type
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 8:54 pm
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 12:32 am
The Evo4 power cable is located on the end of the Evo4 unit. There are two cables -- one for the GPS antenna (gray connector), and the other has a red & black flying leads for the 12V power.

Needs a Life!!!
Needs a Life!!!
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:38 pm
Location: Monument, CO
Chassis:
540
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 2:38 pm
So I only hook up the two CAN wires and the ground to the ECU data cable?

DaveP

Still Learning to Type
Still Learning to Type
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2013 8:54 pm
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 4:56 pm
You only need the two CAN wires.

You can connect a ground if you wish, but I would not bother. You will need 12V power and ground attached to the power leads.

Needs a Life!!!
Needs a Life!!!
Posts: 308
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2011 10:38 pm
Location: Monument, CO
Chassis:
540
PostPosted: Sat Dec 27, 2014 7:56 pm
Thanks David. All hooked up and working.

DaveP

Ready to Write a Book
Ready to Write a Book
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 10:03 am

Chassis:
469
PostPosted: Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:52 am
I am having some trouble getting my Evo 4 to connect to the ECU. What CAN bus setup settings should I use in the PE Monitor Software? Did you include a 120 ohm resistor in the AIM cable?
Scott Ross
#469

Ready to Write a Book
Ready to Write a Book
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 10:03 am

Chassis:
469
PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 12:02 pm
Figured it out so I'm posting for future reference. EVO needs to be set with the ECU on SCCA Enterprises Gen3 as the ECU setting. In PE Monitor under CAN bus setup the setting needs to be Bosch MS4.3 protocol. And I checked all of the associated check boxes below that. Both settings need to be saved to the respective devices (EVO and ECU). Once I got the settings right the EVO worked beautifully. Also, the ECU cable that came with the EVO included a 120 ohm CAN termination resistor. And that should be left in place.
Scott Ross
#469

Return to Spec Racer Gen3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest