Disappointed newbie

All things specracer!

PostPosted: Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:29 pm
Hello ladies and gents. Just registered for the first time after several years of lurking around this site just to say my piece.

I am an excellent candidate for SRF and what brought me back to this site today was to begin the search for one. By way of background, I have a long and varied amateur motorsports history that includes open wheel instruction at Bertil Roos and, in a completely different vein, completing a Cobra replica build. For the latter, I built my own 351W up from a bare block. So although I'm not a pro, I do have the sensibility for the sport, did extremely well at Bertil Roos, and have already investigated the steps to get my license.

Having read a good number of the current posts, I have to say I have soured on the idea of buying an SRF. The prospect of over $10k in upgrades over the next couple years is very uninviting. And although I have no idea who it is, the role/responsibililty of whoever allowed the SCCA to run completely out of spare ECUs for the current motor should be examined closely.

The whole point of a specification racecar is to keep costs down and guys like me in the game. With the near-horizon changes coming for SRFs, I see current-spec cars being worth maybe $11k or $12k. That's nowhere near the prices at which they are being offered, as we can all see.

I'll be pondering this for a while, and while I am not going to say that I am open to persuasion, I do hope that you folks can take these comments in the way they were intended -- constructive criticism. No reasonable person is going to buy into this game right now, because it is going to be just too expensive over the next few years. Better to wait. Which means that anyone with skin in the game has seen the equity value in their car take a hit because of these developments.

Just a bad situation all around right now with SRF.

Hope I'm wrong.

Best regards,

AJ

Forum Hermit
Forum Hermit

Chassis: