Time between rebuilds?

All things specracer!

PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 9:55 am
As a new member to your forum, and considering joining your ranks as a SRF Driver, I have a few basic questions:

1) What is the typical amount of races between engine/transmission rebuilds?

2) It appears an engine rebuild runs $3500 to $4500, how about the tranny?

3) Is SCCA Enterprises the only authorized rebuilder?

4) What is the cost for new tires? Rains?

Thank You,

Mike

Forum Hermit
Forum Hermit
Chassis:
None
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 11:02 am
Dont have good data on #1 as I've only been driving for about 1 1/2 years.
2) Tranny rebuild with installation, iirc, is about $1,600
3) SCCA Enterprises is the only rebuilder of engines. Transmissions?? Not sure.
4) Tires - set of 4 is roughly $800

Still Learning to Type
Still Learning to Type
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 12:19 pm
I think david Skinner is the only guy who is allowed to rebuild the trannies. Not sure about cost though.

Needs a Life!!!
Needs a Life!!!
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 12:41 pm
I've had tranny rebuilds from Elite and RMS (csr's).

Time between rebuilds...my "last" motor was 10 years between rebuilds.
Good news: It got me a podium at the Mid-Ohio Super Tour National on the day it died.
Bad news: Nothing left to rebuild.

H.(should have gone with 9 years)B.

Ready to Write a Book
Ready to Write a Book
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 1:00 pm
1. Engines can easily go 30-40 races between rebuilds. Transmissions typically go 20-25 races with drivers that are hard on them and up to 30-40 races if you are easier on them (heel-toe etc).

2. Any CSR is allowed to rebuild transmissions, but not all do. I know Elite, RMS, MSR, and Alliance Autosport rebuild transmissions. I am sure there are others.
Needs a Life!!!
Needs a Life!!!
Chassis:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 24, 2012 1:46 pm