CDS interface with Gen3 issues

Technical and Repair Discussions

New Member
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 8:45 am
PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 2:28 pm
It appears as CDS is gone. MD did a Gen 3 conversion for me and cannot get my CDS Copilot 2 to interface with the conversion. Shawn has tried everything and also Duane Neyer tried at Daytona last fall to get it to work, but to no avail. I see Gen 3 cars for sale out there with the system, so I assume they are working, so any input someone has would be appreciated. Trying not to spend all the money for an AIM dash at this point.
User avatar
Forum Hermit
Forum Hermit
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 9:20 am
Location: Near Watkins Glen, NY
Chassis:
009
Facebook Page:
https://www.facebook.com/RaceVoiceLLC/
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 12:08 am
How about the Aim Solo DL2? Much lower cost than an mxl or mxg and it will link to the ecu
User avatar
Needs a Life!!!
Needs a Life!!!
Posts: 721
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 12:21 am

Chassis:
595
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 1:37 pm
I'd also consider the new AIM MXm @ around $1,100 as a good starter system. It pretty much covers all the engine side data acqusition from the ECU, plus has programmable alarms, which I consider pretty critical in a Gen3 to deal with the inevitable lost water pump/alternator belt, as well as future expansion capabilities for other sensors.
Bob Breton - SRF 51 - San Francisco Region
User avatar
Forum Hermit
Forum Hermit
Posts: 159
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2011 1:06 pm
Location: Houston TX
Chassis:
741
PostPosted: Wed Jan 30, 2019 5:31 pm
After my Gen3 conversion in 2015, I had to send my SSI and CP2 back to CDS (the Mauney version of CDS) to get the units reprogrammed and re-cabled to receive the serial signal from the Performance Electronics PE3 CAN to serial module. It also required a new SEN-9G sensor cable. I'd be surprised if a CSR could do that for you. CDS charged me $500 for the work. Afterward, I also remember needing to talk to Mike Davies to get the PE ECU to output the correct signal to the CAN to serial module. (Something like that. I just remember not getting any data on the CP2 and that Mike was able to help me fix it over the phone.)

New Member
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 8:45 am
PostPosted: Thu Jan 31, 2019 4:32 pm
Thanks for the replies and input. What you said Ed, makes sense as to why the CSR's couldn't get it to work and CDS is gone for all intents and purposes.

Return to Technical and Repair Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests